Best Vegetable Chopper 2026: 8 Compared
By KEOUKE Kitchen Team · Published · Updated
The best vegetable chopper for most kitchens is the Mueller Pro-Series 10-in-1. Food & Wine named it Best Overall because it “required the least amount of pressure” while producing “extremely uniform pieces,” Sporked scored it 9 of 10, and Reviewed chose it over the Fullstar in a head-to-head. If you want a motor, the Cuisinart Mini-Prep Plus is the electric chopper three test kitchens name best. Our own KEOUKE 12-in-1 is eighth, as the multi-blade value pick.
The 8 best vegetable choppers compared
| Rank | Chopper | Price today | Operation | Capacity | Blades | Dishwasher | Replacement blades | Warranty in writing | Size and weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| #1 · Our pick | Mueller Pro-Series 10-in-1 Best overall · manual | $27.99−44% | Push grid plus slicer inserts | 7.5-cup container by Mueller; 4 cups per Food & Wine | 8: 1/4 and 1/2 inch grids, slicer, wavy, julienne, 3 graters | Top rack | No | Not stated | 11.2 × 5.5 × 5.2 in · 2.5 lb |
| #2 | Cuisinart Mini-Prep Plus Best electric | $39.95 | Electric, 250 W | 3 cups | 1 reversible | Bowl and lid | Yes | 18 months limited | 5 × 7 × 9.3 in · 2.2 lb |
| #3 | Cuisinart Core Custom 4-Cup Best electric · 4 cups | $64.95 | Electric, 250 W | 4 cups | 1 auto-reversing | Parts and lid | Yes | 18 months limited | 5.2 × 7 × 9 in · 3.7 lb |
| #4 | Fullstar Pro Original Best for meal prep | $27.99−44% | Push grid plus spiralizer | 5 cups | 4: 2 grids, spiral, ribbon | Top rack | Yes | Not stated | 10.6 × 4.5 × 4.7 in · 2.2 lb |
| #5 | Kuhn Rikon Pull Chop 2-Cup Best pull-cord · fine chop | $36.98 | Pull-cord | 2 cups | Stacked rotating blades | Container; lid hand-wash | No | Defects covered, no term | 5.5 × 5.3 × 4.3 in · 0.9 lb |
| #6 | Zyliss Easy Pull 3.0 Best pull-cord · cleanup and warranty | $29.95 | Pull-cord | 27 oz, about 3.4 cups | 3 counter-rotating serrated | Bowl and blades; lid hand-wash | No | 5 years | 5.5 × 5.5 × 5.5 in · 0.9 lb |
| #7 | OXO Good Grips Vegetable Chopper Best for garlic · small jobs | $22.99−8% | Pump, rotating blade | 1 cup | 1 rotating zigzag | Yes | No | OXO Better Guarantee | 8.9 × 4.1 × 3.9 in · 0.9 lb |
| #8 | KEOUKE 12-in-1 Vegetable Chopper Best multi-blade value | $23.99 | Push grid plus slicer inserts | Container, capacity not published | 8: 3 grids, 5 slicing and shredding | Blades and top; container hand-wash | No | Not stated | 14 × 5 × 5 in · 0.8 lb |
Product names link to the current Amazon listing. Prices are Amazon’s as of and refresh daily; the price shown on Amazon at the time of purchase applies. Capacities are the maker’s figures unless noted.
This is the KEOUKE Kitchen Team’s ranking of vegetable choppers. We sell five of them, which is exactly why we can say that the Mueller has earned the top spot on the evidence and ours has not been tested by anyone but our customers. We put every chopper on the same sheet, operation type, capacity in cups and milliliters, blade count, which parts survive a dishwasher, whether replacement blades exist, and what warranty is in writing, then checked that sheet against nine test kitchens and 941 Reddit comments. No brand paid for placement.
Knife, chopper or mini processor?
Start here, because the page that ranks above every chopper roundup on Google is Wirecutter’s anti-recommendation: after testing 16 manual choppers, it “can’t wholeheartedly recommend any of them,” and every one of its paid testers with limited dexterity preferred a mini food processor. Cookware Junkies tested 11 and concluded there is “no reason to buy a veggie chopper when you have a perfectly good knife.” In the Reddit threads we read, “just use a knife” is the single most common answer, in 72 comments across 14 threads.
They have a point about what a chopper cannot do. You still pre-cut everything to fit the grid. Soft tomatoes squirt, herbs mash, and the pusher plate traps onion. But the same corpus has 17 comments across ten threads from people who batch-prep a week of onions, peppers and potatoes and would not go back, and Food & Wine, Sporked, The Spruce Eats, Good Housekeeping and Yahoo all recommend specific models after testing. The honest split is this: a chopper earns its drawer space if you dice by the pound, cook for a crowd, or have hands that tire on a knife. If you chop one onion for dinner, sharpen your knife and keep your money.
How we ranked these choppers
We ranked on five things. Cut quality and effort first, taken from the labs that measured them: how much pressure a grid needed, whether celery and peppers came out clean or stuck. Capacity and versatility second: how much a container holds and how many blades are in the box. Ownership third: which parts go in the dishwasher, whether you can buy a replacement blade when the grid dulls, and whether a warranty term exists in writing. Consensus fourth: a chopper that wins at three publications outranks one that wins at one and loses at two. Price last: today’s Amazon price, shown in the comparison table above and refreshed daily, against what ships in the box. Price decides the value picks and breaks ties between choppers that perform alike; it never lifts a chopper that performs badly.
Grid, pull-cord, pump, crank or electric?
Grid choppers (Mueller, Fullstar, KEOUKE 12-in-1, Vidalia) press produce through a square lattice into a container. They dice fastest and most evenly on firm produce and most ship slicing inserts too. Their physics is the problem: hard vegetables take real force. Food & Wine worried two of them “might break” on potatoes, and Wirecutter’s instruction is to “repeatedly bang” the lid rather than push it.
Pull-cord bowls (Kuhn Rikon, Zyliss, Chef’n) spin stacked blades with a lawnmower cord. Fewer pulls give a coarse chop, twenty give a purée, and they handle garlic, herbs, nuts and salsa that grids cannot. They need two hands, small pieces, and a hand-wash lid.
Pump choppers (OXO) drive a zigzag blade up and down into a cup. Excellent for a clove of garlic or a handful of nuts, hopeless on a whole onion.
Hand-crank processors (Cambom 8-in-1, OXO One Stop Chop, our own KEOUKE crank chopper) turn a blade in a bowl. The only lab that tested crank units rated both it tried two stars or fewer, and Food & Wine’s crank pick jammed on a sweet potato.
Electric mini choppers (Cuisinart, KitchenAid, Ninja) do the work for you, hold 3 to 4 cups, and are the only category with a written warranty and spare parts. They give you less control over texture and a motor to store.
Why the test kitchens disagree
Nine publications have tested choppers, and their splits are real. Kuhn Rikon’s Pull Chop is Best Overall at The Spruce Eats and a perfect 10 at Sporked, yet Food & Wine tells readers to steer clear of it and Wirecutter found it tiring. The Ninja Express Chop is praised by Good Housekeeping and Yahoo and refused by Serious Eats. Fullstar is Amazon’s best seller and a pick at three outlets, and the model both Wirecutter and Reviewed rank below the Mueller.
| Publication | Best manual | Best electric | Notable dissent |
|---|---|---|---|
| Food & Wine (7 tested, 2026) | Mueller Pro-Series | Cuisinart Mini-Prep Plus | ”Steer clear” of Kuhn Rikon, LHS and Zyliss Zick Zick |
| Sporked (8 brands, 2025) | Kuhn Rikon 10 of 10; Mueller and OXO pump 9 of 10 | Not tested | Fullstar, Slap Chop and Vidalia “did not make the cut” |
| The Spruce Eats (13 models, 2025) | Kuhn Rikon; Fullstar runner-up | Cuisinart Mini-Prep Plus | Zyliss Zick-Zick budget pick stained and struggled on peppers |
| Wirecutter (16 manual, 2024) | None recommended; Mueller 4-blade “best of the worst” | Cuisinart Core Custom | All accessibility testers preferred mini processors |
| Reviewed (2024) | Mueller over Fullstar | Not tested | ”You’re better off strengthening your knife skills” |
| Yahoo (10 tested, 2026) | Mueller press; Zyliss Easy Pull cord | Cuisinart Mini Prep Plus 4-cup | Chose Zyliss over Kuhn Rikon for comfort |
| Good Housekeeping (11 tested, 2023) | Fullstar grid; Zyliss pull; OXO pump | Ninja Express Chop; Cuisinart Elemental | OXO pump “uneven chopping results” |
| Serious Eats (12 electric, 2026) | Not tested | Hamilton Beach; Cuisinart Core Custom and Mini-Prep | Does not recommend the Ninja Express Chop |
| Cookware Junkies (11 tested, 2023) | Chef’n VeggiChop | Not tested | ”No reason to buy a veggie chopper” |
Read across the rows and the Mueller is the only manual chopper that wins or places at four independent outlets without a loss. That is why it is first.
The picks
1. Mueller Pro-Series 10-in-1: Best overall manual chopper
The most validated grid chopper on the market. Food & Wine’s tester wrote that it “required the least amount of pressure” of the seven choppers tested and sliced a halved red onion into “extremely uniform pieces.” Sporked scored it 9 of 10 and noted it “doesn’t require much pressure at all.” Reviewed put it head-to-head with the Fullstar and found the Mueller’s “blades are much sharper, resulting in cleaner cuts,” cutting celery the Fullstar choked on. Yahoo made it the press-style pick out of ten.

The box holds eight blades: 1/4-inch and 1/2-inch dicing grids, a slicer, a wavy slicer, a julienne blade and three graters, over a container Mueller rates at 7.5 cups and Food & Wine lists at 4 cups of working capacity. Blades are stainless, the plastic is BPA- and PFAS-free by Mueller’s spec, and everything goes on the top rack.
Pros:
- Least pressure and most uniform dice in Food & Wine’s test; sharper than Fullstar in Reviewed’s.
- Eight blades cover dicing, slicing, julienne and grating.
- Top-rack dishwasher safe; the largest container in the manual group.
Cons:
- Sporked: “nearly a foot long” and not the tool for a few cloves of garlic.
- Wirecutter: Mueller does not offer replacement blades, so a dull grid means a new chopper.
- Two hands on hard vegetables, like every grid chopper.
2. Cuisinart Mini-Prep Plus: Best electric chopper
The electric chopper with the most awards: Best Electric at Food & Wine and The Spruce Eats, Best Small-Capacity at Serious Eats, and its 4-cup sibling is Yahoo’s best overall. A 250-watt motor spins a reversible blade, sharp edge for chopping, blunt edge for grinding nuts and spices, in a 3-cup, 24-ounce bowl. Bowl and lid go in the dishwasher, the base wipes clean, Cuisinart publishes a limited 18-month warranty, and a replacement blade is sold separately, which no manual chopper here can say.

The knocks are about control. Food & Wine found it “doesn’t offer much control over cut size,” and The Spruce Eats noted “the size of the bits was somewhat uneven.” Three cups is one onion and a pepper, not a week of meal prep.
Pros:
- Three test kitchens’ electric pick; 250 watts in a 2.2-pound package.
- 18-month warranty and a replacement blade you can buy.
- Bowl and lid dishwasher safe.
Cons:
- Uneven texture compared with a grid dice.
- 3-cup bowl limits batch size.
- Needs an outlet and shelf space.
3. Cuisinart Core Custom 4-Cup Mini Chopper: Best electric with a 4-cup bowl
Wirecutter’s answer to the whole manual-chopper question: it recommends this instead, calling it “our favorite mini food processor” with “available replacement parts and 18-month warranty.” Serious Eats names it “Another Excellent” pick behind its Hamilton Beach winner, with a 250-watt motor, an auto-reversing SmartPower blade and a BladeLock that keeps the blade in place when you pour. Paddle controls switch between chop and grind, which matters for anyone with limited grip.

Serious Eats’ one complaint is that “you need to constantly press the power button” rather than lock it on, and at 3.7 pounds it is the heaviest item here.
Pros:
- Wirecutter’s favorite mini processor; the one it tells chopper shoppers to buy instead.
- 4-cup bowl, 18-month warranty, replacement parts available.
- Paddle controls and BladeLock make it the easiest pick for limited dexterity.
Cons:
- Hold-to-run switch; no lock-on mode.
- Heaviest and priciest chopper here.
- Uneven texture versus a grid, like any processor.
4. Fullstar Pro Original Vegetable Chopper and Spiralizer: Best for meal prep
Amazon’s best seller in the category and a pick at three outlets: Food & Wine’s Best Spiralizer, The Spruce Eats’ runner-up, and a Good Housekeeping pick. The Spruce Eats loaded “an entire can of chickpeas, an entire tomato, an entire onion, and an entire cucumber at once” into its 5-cup container, and Fullstar is one of only two brands in Wirecutter’s test that sells replacement blade grids. Two dicing grids, a spiralizer and a ribbon blade in 420 stainless, a soft-grip handle, a non-skid base, and top-rack cleaning.

The dissent is consistent. Wirecutter called it “one of the hardest models to assemble and use” and reported the lid “kept coming off the base”; Reviewed found celery “got stuck” and ranked it below the Mueller; Food & Wine worried on potatoes “that the chopper might break”; Good Housekeeping says it is “not suited to chopping parsley or other herbs.”
Pros:
- 5-cup container and a spiralizer in the box; the meal-prep favorite.
- Replacement blade grids sold, unlike Mueller, OXO or Kuhn Rikon.
- Top-rack dishwasher safe; three test-kitchen picks.
Cons:
- Wirecutter: lid detaches, hardest to assemble.
- Reviewed: sharper cuts from the Mueller at the same price.
- Heavy force on hard vegetables; no herbs.
5. Kuhn Rikon Pull Chop 2-Cup: Best pull-cord for fine chopping
The most polarizing chopper on the market. The Spruce Eats named it Best Overall because it sliced “cleanly through bell peppers as well, when many of its competitors simply crushed or mashed them,” and Sporked gave it the only perfect 10 in its test, calling it “essentially a manual food processor.” Pull a few times for a coarse chop, ten to fifteen for a fine mince, and it handles garlic, herbs, nuts and salsa that no grid chopper can. The 2-cup container is microwave and dishwasher safe and the blade stores inside under a protective cover.

Now the other side. Food & Wine tested it and told readers to “steer clear,” worried about “damage to the blade mechanism and our own fingers during the recommended hand-washing process.” The Spruce Eats’ own testers “sliced open a finger when taking them out for cleaning.” Wirecutter found it “tiring for most of our testers,” and Yahoo preferred the Zyliss for a more comfortable pull. Buy it for the cut quality and respect the blades.
Pros:
- Best Overall at The Spruce Eats; Sporked’s only 10 of 10.
- Chops garlic, herbs and nuts and purées salsa in one bowl.
- Dishwasher-safe container; 0.9 pounds.
Cons:
- Food & Wine and Wirecutter dissent; two published finger cuts while cleaning.
- Onion must be quartered to fit; 2 cups is small.
- Lid hand-wash only; the priciest manual chopper Sporked tested.
6. Zyliss Easy Pull Food Chopper 3.0: Best pull-cord for cleanup and warranty
The pull-cord for people who read the Kuhn Rikon section and winced. Yahoo tested both and chose the Zyliss “because it features an extra blade, and I found the pull to be a tad more comfortable”; Good Housekeeping picked it too, noting the “blades spun smoothly to evenly chop vegetables.” Three counter-rotating serrated stainless blades and a sweeper arm work an 800-milliliter, 27-ounce bowl, the bowl and blades go in the dishwasher, and Zyliss backs it with a five-year guarantee, the longest of any chopper here.

Like every pull-cord, the lid is hand-wash only and Zyliss says never to immerse the cord mechanism. Good Housekeeping wanted measurement marks on the bowl, Yahoo called the chops “slightly rough,” and the listing showed limited stock when we checked.
Pros:
- Yahoo’s and Good Housekeeping’s pull-cord pick; comfortable pull.
- Five-year guarantee; bowl and blades dishwasher safe.
- Larger bowl than the Kuhn Rikon at the same weight.
Cons:
- Lid and cord mechanism hand-wash only.
- Rougher chop than the Kuhn Rikon; no bowl markings.
- Stock runs thin.
7. OXO Good Grips Vegetable Chopper: Best for garlic and small jobs
The pump chopper that does one thing well. Sporked scored it 9 of 10 as Best Classic because the “blades rotate as you chop, giving you really even cuts,” and Food & Wine named it Best for Garlic since it can “handle both a rough chop and a finer mince.” Good Housekeeping picked it too, and it sits third in Amazon’s chopper rankings. A zigzag stainless blade rotates with each pump into a 1-cup catcher marked in cups and milliliters, and the whole thing is dishwasher safe and covered by OXO’s repair-or-replace guarantee.

It is not a volume tool. Wirecutter found the “resulting dice is hugely uneven” and that it handles “only about a quarter of an onion” at a time, Good Housekeeping logged “uneven chopping results,” and Yahoo saw bigger chunks get caught in the blade.
Pros:
- Best for garlic at Food & Wine; Sporked’s Best Classic.
- Dishwasher safe, one hand, under a pound.
- OXO Better Guarantee.
Cons:
- Quarter of an onion per load; uneven on anything big.
- 1-cup capacity.
- Not a dicer.
8. KEOUKE 12-in-1 Vegetable Chopper Mandoline Slicer: Best multi-blade value
Our own chopper, ranked where the evidence allows and no higher. No test kitchen has tested it and it does not appear in the Reddit corpus, so this slot rests on the spec sheet and on the owners who have bought it. What you get: three square dicing grids and five rectangular slicing and shredding inserts in 420 stainless, an egg separator, a hand guard, a drainer basket that turns the container into a colander, a comb to clear the pusher, and a clear container that stores every blade inside it. It weighs under a pound, less than a third of the Mueller, which also means a lighter build.

Where it gives ground to the Mueller: the container is not recommended for the dishwasher, only the blades and top are; there is no published container capacity; we do not sell replacement blades; and there is no warranty term in writing. If you want the widest blade set for the least money and you hand-wash anyway, it is a sound buy. If you want the lab-tested grid, buy the Mueller. The 12-in-1 product page lists every insert.
Pros:
- Eight blades plus egg separator and drainer basket, all stored in the container.
- Lightest grid chopper here; hand guard included.
- Priced below the Mueller and Fullstar.
Cons:
- Untested by any lab.
- Container hand-wash; no published capacity.
- No replacement blades; no warranty term.
Also considered
- OXO Good Grips Vegetable and Onion Chopper. Food & Wine’s Best Value, a 2.5-cup fixed-grid chopper with an easy-pour opening. Food & Wine needed “so much pressure to chop firmer vegetables” it felt the chopper might break, and Wirecutter notes the blade cannot be removed or changed.
- Vidalia Chop Wizard. The original grid chopper, Amazon’s number six in the category, with two grids and, unusually, replacement blades sold for the original model. Sporked tried it and did not pick it.
- Chef’n VeggiChop. Cookware Junkies’ number one after eleven tests, needing “about 8 pulls to get through half an onion” with near-perfect garlic. The pull-cord lid is hand-wash only, and no other lab has tested it.
- Ninja Express Chop. Good Housekeeping and Yahoo praise a 200-watt motor that minces an onion in a two-second pulse; Serious Eats does not recommend it because the bowl sits under the motor and “liquid splashed up onto the top motor.” Two cups. It was on pre-order when we checked.
- OXO Good Grips One Stop Chop. Food & Wine’s Best Manual Food Chopper, a 4-cup crank processor with suction tabs. Food & Wine’s sweet potato “got stuck instantly.”
- Cambom 8-in-1 hand crank. A 1,200-milliliter crank chopper with whisk and egg separator, hand-wash only. The one lab that tested crank processors rated its two units two stars or fewer.
- KEOUKE Chopper Bowl and 8-in-1 Vertical. Our 3-grid chopper bowl stores at 6.7 inches square with 9 mm, 12 mm and fry grids and only the blades go in the dishwasher; our 8-in-1 vertical dicer is too new to rank. Our 2.3-cup pull-cord mini is the cheapest cord chopper we know of, with a 365-day warranty stated on its listing, and a far thinner owner history than the Kuhn Rikon.
- Zyliss Zick-Zick Classic. The Spruce Eats’ budget pick, but Food & Wine saw rust “after just a few washes” and The Spruce Eats’ own unit stained and struggled on green peppers.
Skip these
Each of these was panned by at least one tester with a reason: the Slap Chop (“ingredients got jammed,” Wirecutter; “did not make the cut,” Sporked), the Cuisinart push chopper (“didn’t so much cut through ingredients as smush them,” The Spruce Eats), the Brieftons Express (“skip this one for sure,” Cookware Junkies), the Sedhoom 23-in-1 (one star, “basically no redeeming qualities,” Cookware Junkies), the Black+Decker 1.5-cup (lid holes let liquid splash out, Serious Eats), and the Prepworks Dice and Slice (lid “flopping closed at random,” Wirecutter).
Which vegetable chopper should you buy?
- You dice onions, peppers and potatoes by the batch: the Mueller Pro-Series.
- You want it done for you, or your hands tire: the Cuisinart Core Custom, or the Mini-Prep Plus if 3 cups is enough.
- You want the biggest manual container and spare blades: the Fullstar.
- You make salsa, pesto and minced garlic: the Kuhn Rikon for cut quality, the Zyliss for the warranty and easier cleanup.
- You need a clove of garlic and a handful of nuts: the OXO pump.
- You want the most blades for the least money and hand-wash anyway: our KEOUKE 12-in-1.
- You chop one onion at a time: a sharp knife.
How small do you have to pre-cut?
Every chopper needs pre-cut produce, and nobody prints the sizes. Here is what the test kitchens and the makers report.
| Chopper type | Onion | Pepper, cucumber, potato | Garlic and herbs |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grid chopper (Mueller, Fullstar, KEOUKE) | Halved, then push; outer layers come out as strips | Planks that fit the grid | Not suitable |
| Pull-cord bowl (Kuhn Rikon, Zyliss) | Quartered | Chunks of an inch or two | Whole cloves and leaves, a few pulls |
| Pump chopper (OXO) | About a quarter at a time | Small chunks | Its best job |
| Electric mini (Cuisinart) | Quartered | Chunks, in pulses | Whole cloves and leaves |
What long-term owners say
We read 941 comments and 59 posts about vegetable choppers from r/Cooking, r/foodhacks, r/BuyItForLife, r/cookingforbeginners, r/kitchen, r/KitchenPro, r/Costco and r/adhdwomen through the Arctic Shift archive. Reddit’s question is not which chopper but whether to own one. A knife is offered as the alternative in 249 comments across 14 threads, and the single most-upvoted comment in the whole corpus, in r/adhdwomen, is “Save your money. It’s a trap. Takes more time and effort to clean the bloody thing than it would to chop veggies and clean the knife and cutting board.” Cleaning is the theme that decides it: 61 comments in ten threads are explicit hard-to-clean complaints and 80 mention the dishwasher, mostly lids that warped or parts that could not go in. One r/foodhacks reply puts the buying rule better than any lab: “Don’t optimize for blade count; optimize for whether every food-contact part can go straight in the dishwasher.”
The other side is just as clear. Seventy-two comments in 15 threads are batch-preppers who call a grid chopper the tool that made weekly cooking sustainable; the top Mueller owner in r/Costco writes, “I buy bags of onions, green peppers, and celery at Costco, use this to chop them and freeze in ziplocks.” Forty-two comments in 11 threads are about limited hand function, where a chopper stops being a gadget and becomes the difference between cooking and not. Among brands, Mueller is the only branded grid chopper that comes out net positive, named in 18 comments across seven threads; Fullstar is named 14 times and barely upvoted. No KEOUKE chopper appears in the corpus, which is one more reason ours sits eighth.
Choppers and accessibility
One Reddit thread with 74 comments asks for a chopper after a stroke, and no editorial page answers it. Wirecutter’s test is the closest thing to data: its paid testers with limited dexterity or limb differences, some using wheelchairs, all preferred mini food processors to manual choppers, because grids need two hands and force and pull-cords need grip. The Cuisinart Core Custom’s paddle controls and its 4-cup bowl make it the sensible starting point. Among manuals, a pull-cord chopper on a non-slip base takes less downward force than a grid, and a grid chopper with a locking lid is safer than one that pops open under load.
Cleaning a chopper without losing a fingertip
Rinse before anything dries; The Spruce Eats’ rule is to “clean (or at least rinse) the blade soon after use.” Push stuck pieces out of the grid with the comb or fork that ships with most choppers, never a finger. Two published testers cut themselves cleaning pull-cord blades, so lift those by the hub and store them in the bowl under the cover. Bowls and blade grids are usually top-rack safe; lids on pull-cord and pump choppers, motor bases, and our own clear container are not. Skip the heat-dry cycle on any plastic chopper: owners in the r/BuyItForLife threads report warped lids, and Wirecutter cites the same failure.
For a second ranking of the same field, the best vegetable chopper guide at cambom.org compares seven models, and its companion manual vs. electric food chopper piece goes deeper on the motor question. If slicing matters more to you than dicing, our best mandoline slicer guide covers that side of the counter.
How we sourced this ranking
- Food & Wine, The 6 Best Vegetable Choppers: seven tested; Mueller Best Overall, OXO pump Best for Garlic, Cuisinart Mini-Prep Plus Best Electric, Kuhn Rikon and Zyliss Zick Zick steer-clear.
- Sporked, Best Food Choppers: Kuhn Rikon 10 of 10, Mueller and OXO 9 of 10.
- The Spruce Eats, The 7 Best Food Choppers: Kuhn Rikon Best Overall, Fullstar runner-up, Cuisinart Mini-Prep Plus Best Electric.
- Wirecutter, Manual Vegetable Choppers Are the Worst: 16 manual choppers, accessibility panel, Cuisinart Core Custom recommendation, replacement-blade findings.
- Reviewed, Veggie choppers: brilliant hack or silly trend?: Mueller versus Fullstar head-to-head.
- Yahoo Shopping, The 4 best vegetable choppers: ten tested, Mueller and Zyliss manual picks.
- Good Housekeeping, Best Vegetable Choppers: eleven tested, Fullstar, Zyliss, OXO and Ninja picks.
- Serious Eats, Best Mini Food Processors: twelve electric models, Cuisinart verdicts, Ninja dissent.
- Cookware Junkies, Vegetable Choppers Tested: eleven units, Chef’n VeggiChop first, the skip list.
- Manufacturer pages: Mueller Home for the blade set and 7.5-cup figure, Zyliss for the 5-year guarantee and care rules, Cuisinart for the Mini-Prep Plus warranty, Kuhn Rikon for pull counts, OXO’s guarantee.
- Owner reports: 941 comments and 59 posts via the Arctic Shift Reddit archive; specs and weights from each product’s Amazon listing data on September 22, 2026.
Reviewed by the KEOUKE Kitchen Team. Rankings follow the published evidence and our own use of these tools; no brand paid for placement.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best vegetable chopper?
For most kitchens it is the Mueller Pro-Series 10-in-1. Food & Wine named it Best Overall because it required the least pressure of any chopper tested while cutting extremely uniform pieces, Sporked scored it 9 of 10, Reviewed picked it over the Fullstar in a head-to-head, and Yahoo made it its manual pick out of ten tested. If you would rather not push at all, the Cuisinart Mini-Prep Plus is the electric chopper three test kitchens name best.
Are vegetable choppers worth it, or should I just use a knife?
It depends on what you cook. Wirecutter tested 16 manual choppers and could not wholeheartedly recommend any, and the most common Reddit answer is a sharp knife. But Food & Wine, Sporked, The Spruce Eats, Good Housekeeping and Yahoo all recommend specific models, and owners who batch-prep onions, peppers and potatoes for the week say a grid chopper pays for itself. Buy one for volume dicing or limited hand strength; skip it if you chop one onion at a time.
Mueller or Fullstar, which chopper is better?
Mueller. Reviewed tested both and found the Mueller's blades much sharper with cleaner cuts, cutting celery that got stuck in the Fullstar. Yahoo notes the Mueller ships more blades and a larger container at about the same price. Fullstar's advantages are real too: it is Amazon's best seller, The Spruce Eats' runner-up, and one of the only brands that sells replacement blade grids, which Mueller does not.
Manual or electric vegetable chopper?
Manual for precise dice and small kitchens, electric for volume and for anyone with limited hand strength. Every one of Wirecutter's paid accessibility testers preferred a mini food processor to a manual chopper. Electric mini choppers also come with something no manual chopper offers: an 18-month warranty and spare blades, in Cuisinart's case. The trade-off is uneven texture and a motor to store.
Do you still have to cut vegetables before using a chopper?
Yes, always. A grid chopper takes a halved onion; a pull-cord bowl like the Kuhn Rikon takes a quartered one; a pump chopper handles about a quarter of an onion at a time. Wirecutter's line is that until bell peppers grow in stemless, seedless four-square-inch cubes, you will pre-cut. Plan on planks that fit the grid, and expect the outer onion layers to come out as strips.
Can a vegetable chopper handle tomatoes and soft vegetables?
Poorly. Food & Wine found push-style choppers did not work well with very soft ingredients like tomatoes, which got stuck, and Reviewed reported tomatoes squirting everywhere. Grid choppers are for firm produce: onions, peppers, cucumbers, potatoes, carrots. For tomatoes, salsa and herbs, use a pull-cord chopper, a pump chopper or a knife.
Can a vegetable chopper chop garlic, herbs or nuts?
Grid choppers cannot; Food & Wine says the grids are not cut out for fruits, nuts or herbs. The rotating zigzag blade in the OXO pump chopper is Food & Wine's Best for Garlic, and pull-cord bowls such as the Kuhn Rikon and Zyliss mince garlic, herbs and nuts in a few pulls, though The Spruce Eats found the Kuhn Rikon struggles with only a few cloves.
Are vegetable choppers dishwasher safe?
Bowls and blades usually are, lids often are not. Good Housekeeping notes most pull-cord choppers have hand-wash lids, Zyliss says never immerse the cord mechanism, and Wirecutter cites owner reports of grid choppers that melted and warped in a dishwasher's top rack. Our own 12-in-1 follows the same rule: blades and top go in, the clear container is better hand-washed.
How many cups should a vegetable chopper hold?
Three to five cups for a family meal. Serious Eats calls a three- to four-cup bowl ideal for a mini processor, Yahoo suggests three cups or more, and Food & Wine's testing found 1-cup choppers excel at garlic and nuts while 4- to 5-cup containers handle onions, peppers and potatoes. Check the container, not the box: Mueller rates its container at 7.5 cups while Food & Wine lists a 4-cup working capacity.
Which vegetable chopper is best for someone with arthritis or after a stroke?
An electric mini chopper. Wirecutter recruited paid testers with limited dexterity and limb differences, and all of them preferred mini food processors to manual choppers, which need two hands and real force on hard vegetables. Among manuals, a pull-cord bowl needs less downward force than a grid chopper but requires grip strength to pull. The Cuisinart Core Custom, with its paddle controls, is Wirecutter's pick.
The KEOUKE 12-in-1 chopper
Three dicing grids, five slicing and shredding inserts, an egg separator and a drainer basket, all stored inside the container.
View Product